What is a PEVO class?


What to expect

The training standards for PEVO certification program complies with guidelines established by the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) and the Washington State Patrol (WSP). The training focuses on state regulations, procedures, safety practices, and operator responsibilities.


Class Requirements

-You must be 18 years old and have a valid driver’s license from any of the 50 U.S. states.

-You must be able to read and speak English.

-You must be able to perform flagging duties and traffic control.

-You must be drug and alcohol free when performing P/E vehicle duties.

-You must carry minimum liability insurance as required by Washington State.

-You must wear corrective lenses while performing P/E duties if they required for driving.

-Must pass exam with 80% or better


The initial PEVO training is a minimum 8 hour course  225.00

The recertification class is minimum of 4 hour course  150.00



When you successfully complete this training course, you will receive  a wallet-size certification card stating that you have been trained and are qualified in the duties of a PEVO. The card must be carried on your person at all times while performing P/E duties. This certification should be a reminder that you are a trained professional the public can rely on for the skills and competence to make the right choices for everyone safety.

The class is prepared primarily on Washington State Codes and standards for Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator (PEVO). The information generally applies to all other states but must be compared with specific states regulations to be effectively applied. All PEVOs escorting Oversized Loads into adjoining states must read and be familiar with that states oversize vehicle escorting requirements before entering.

*Operators are required to attend a refresher course (4 hours) every three years.


Register for an upcoming class